The Department of Chemistry is one of the largest and founding Departments in the College of Natural and Computational Science in 2017 offering a four year program leading to a B.Sc degree in Chemistry. In the year 2022, the Department launched a post graduate M.Sc program in Analytical Chemistry. This was a turning point in the history of the Department and a significant step forward towards fulfilling the country’s needs for high-level of qualified Chemists.

Currently, in terms of staff combination, the Department has two PhD holders, 11 M.Sc holders, 9 staffs under PhD study, 1 staff under M.Sc study and 2 technical assistants. The Department has also facilities such as four laboratories with good and state of art instruments. The Department is highly committed and engaged in conducting problem solving research activities, strengthening community engagement and technology transfer.

The Department of Chemistry under the college of Natural and Computational Science has been imparting subject related knowledge and practical training not only to Chemistry students but also to the students of many others disciplines and programs such as Pharmacy, Medicine, Medical Laboratory Science, Nursing, Environmental Health Science, Plant Science, Food Science and Post-harvest Technology, Horticulture, and fresh man students where Chemistry and the discipline work as contingent to each other. Starting from 2022, the Department also teaches STEM outreach program for grade 7-12 students selected from different high schools of Awi Administrative Zone.

Click the links Below to see all Details about the Staff:-

Wodaje Addis Tegegne (PhD)


Mobile:+251 911895976